Faculty FAQs
Q. How do I make a backup of my course?
A. You don’t need to request to have your course deleted in the new system. We are working on a process where courses will be automatically backed up and deleted. HOWEVER, you should definitely create a backup of your course for your own reference in case you need something from it after we delete it. To do that, go into the course and go to PACKAGES AND UTILITIES and then EXPORT/ARCHIVE COURSE. Click the Export button in order to create a backup WITHOUT student content, or click ARCHIVE to create one with the whole grade center and student data intact.
Q. How do I deny access to my students?
A..When you go into your course, click on CUSTOMIZATION and then on PROPERTIES. There is an option there to make your course available or not. Set it to “no” and students will no longer have access to the course
Q. I am teaching an online course, but when I log into eLearning I don’t see my course listed for the semester.
A. Please fill out the eLearning Section Creation Form for your online course. This form needs to be filled out every semester for each course you are teaching, even if you have taught the course online previously. Once that is done, a technician will create your course in the system (within 24 hours during the work week) and you will be able to put content there for your students. If you would like to come in for training on how to use the system (eLearning), visit the Training Site to view the training calendar, or send an email to elearning@gccnj.edu and a time for training will be set up.
Q. I want to provide online content to my students in my face-to-face course. How do I get started?
A. Please fill out the eLearning Section Creation Form for each course you would like an online environment for. Once that is done, a technician will create your course in the system and you will be able to put content there for your students. If you would like to come in for training on how to use the system (eLearning), visit the Training Site to view the training calendar, or send an email to elearning@gccnj.edu and a time for training will be set up.

Q. My course starts later than other Fall/Spring/Summer/Winter courses. How can I prevent students from accessing my course until I’m ready?
A. Courses are automatically made available to students on the first day of classes for a given term. If you want to prevent students from accessing your course until you’re ready, visit the Control Panel of your course and click on Properties (screenshot). Under the second option called “Set Availability”, choose “No” and then click the submit button (screenshot). When you visit the My Institution tab and look at the My Courses module, you should see a note beside the course saying it is unavailable (screenshot). You will still have access to this course as an instructor (and as your Demo User), but students will not have access to the course. When you’re ready for your students to have access to the course, just go back and change the availability to “Yes” or “Use Term Availability.”

Q. The semester is over and I no longer want to allow students into my course. How do I make my course unavailable?
A. Courses are automatically made available to students on the first day of class, but courses do not automatically close to students. To make your course unavailable to students, visit the Control Panel of your course and click on Properties (screenshot). Under the second option called “Set Availability”, choose “No” and then click the submit button (screenshot). When you visit the My Institution tab and look at the My Courses module, you should see a note beside the course saying it is unavailable (screenshot). You will still have access to this course as an instructor (and as your Demo User), but students will not have access to the course. If you want to re-enable your students’ access to the course, just go back and change the availability to “Yes” or “Use Term Availability.”

Q. Are there any videos I can watch to help me with building my course in the system?
A. eLearning Support is working to create videos for specific aspects of the system, but in the meantime click here to view the videos Blackboard has provided. Most videos are for Service Pack 7 and we are on Service Pack 8, so things may look different but the functionality is almost always identical.

Q. A student registered late for my course and when I check my roster in eLearning, I don’t see them enrolled in my course.
A. Once a student registers for a course, they are not enrolled in the course in eLearning automatically. You will not see the student enrolled in your eLearning course until the system updates.  Updates are run three times a day at 8am, 12pm and 4pm (even on weekends) so you may need to wait until the next update before the student is enrolled in the course.


 

**Please click here to be taken to the Blackboard Help Site designed for Instructors**